Special Session on Memetic Computing IEEE WCCI 2012

 
 


As reported on the Handbook of Memetic Algorithms, by F. Neri, C. Cotta, and P. Moscato, Springer, 2011


Memetic Computing is a broad subject which studies complex and dynamic computing structures composed of interacting modules (memes) whose evolution dynamics is inspired by the diffusion of ideas. Memes are simple strategies whose harmonic coordination allows the solution of various problems.



The use of sophisticated computational intelligence approaches for solving complex problems in science and engineering has increased steadily over the last 20 years. Within this growing trend, which relies heavily on state-of-the-art optimisation and design strategies, the methodology known as Memetic Computing is, perhaps, one of the recent most successful stories. From the word "mimeme" of Greek origin, Dawkins coined the term "meme" in his 1976 book on "The Selfish Gene" (Dawkins 1976). He defined it as being "the basic unit of cultural transmission or imitation".

In computational science the concept of meme has been introduced within Memetic  Algorithms, i.e. a class of algorithms composed of an evolutionary framework and a set of local search components integrated within the generation cycle or the external framework. Subsequently, the concept meme in Computer Science has been expanded and abstracted to generic structures composed of linked operators. The interaction amongst these operators allows the functioning of the entire structure.


This special session focuses on Memetic Computing, Memetic Algorithms, hybrid  approaches, and any algorithm which can be seen as a linked structure of diverse operators, such as hyper-heuristics, co-evolutionary and self-adaptive approaches. A special attention will be given to automatic generation of algorithms and to research works focused on the algorithmic coordination of diverse algorithmic components.


Program Committee

Yew Soon Ong, Computer Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, ASYSOng@ntu.edu.sg

Maoguo Gong, Institute of Intelligent Information Processing, Xidian University, China, gong@ieee.com

Kay Chen Tan, National University of Singapore, Singapore, eletankc@nus.edu.sg 

Swagatam Das, Department of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, Jadavpur University, India, swagatamdas19@yahoo.co.in 

Lee Kee Khoon, Institute of High Performance Computing, A-Star, Singapore, leekk@ihpc.a-star.edu.sg

Anna Kononova, Heriot-Watt University, UK, a.kononova@hw.ac.uk

Tang Ke,Nature Inspired Computation and Applications Laboratory, School of Computer Science and Technology, University of Science and Technology of China, China, ketang@ustc.edu.cn

Chi Keong Goh, Advanced Technology Centre, Rolls-Royce Singapore Pte. Ltd, Singapore, chi.keong.goh@rolls-royce.com

Jim Smith, University of the West of England, UK, James.Smith@uwe.ac.uk

Meng-Hiot Lim, School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, emhlim@ntu.edu.sg

Yuhui Shi, Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University,Yuhui.shi@xjtlu.edu.cn

Carlos Cotta, Universidad de Málaga, ETSI Informática, Campus de Teatinos, Spain, ccottap@lcc.uma.es

Hisao Ishibuchi, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan, hisaoi@cs.osakafu-u.ac.jp

Chuan-Kang Ting, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan, ckting@cs.ccu.edu.tw

Shaheen Fatima, Loughborough University, UK, S.S.Fatima@lboro.ac.uk

Yanqing Zhang, Department of Computer Science, Georgia State University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA, yzhang@cs.gsu.edu

Pablo Moscato, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science The University of Newcastle, Australia, Pablo.Moscato@newcastle.edu.au

Zhen Ji, Shenzhen University, China, jizhen@szu.edu.cn

Ying-Ping Chen, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan, ypchen@cs.nctu.edu.tw

Licheng Jiao, Key Lab of Intelligent Perception and Image Understanding of Ministry of Education of China, Xidian University, China, LCHJiao@mail.xidian.edu.cn


 

IEEE World Congress on Computational Intelligence,

Brisbane Australia, June 10-15, 2012

IEEE Computational Intelligence Society, Task Force on Memetic Computing


Organizers

Ferrante Neri, University of Jyväskylä, Finland

ZHU Zexuan, Shenzhen University, China

Ruhul Sarker, University of New South Wales, Australia


Important dates:

Initial submission Dec 19, 2011

Acceptance notification Feb 20, 2012

Final submission and early registration Apr 2, 2012